The DASA Competence Model offers a maturity model of 5 levels for professionals and teams. The maturity distribution of DevOps competencies may be different per individual, however, each team will need to have sufficient competencies to ensure performance and output.

With the support of the DASA Competence Model and Qualification Program we can build and assess DevOps teams and enable organizations to win.

DASA DevOps Fundamentals

DASA DevOps Fundamentals is the starting point for anyone involved in an Agile and/or DevOps team. Improved workflows and faster deployment start with a core understanding of DevOps fundamentals by all team members.

The course is designed to provide the core education necessary to build your DevOps vocabulary and to understand its principles and practices. The course will inspire you to serve as a change champion by sharing and using what you have learned, and continue to learn, about DevOps to lead and mentor others.

Learn More About DevOps Fundamentals

DASA DevOps Practitioner

DASA DevOps Practitioner builds upon the DASA DevOps Fundamentals qualification. The key focus of DevOps Practitioner is on the 4 skill areas required for successful DevOps results.

The DevOps Practitioner course prepares candidates for the Practitioner qualification. It is designed to provide the core education necessary to put DevOps into practice. With the help of DevOps , theory, pragmatic examples and exercises, and interactive group discussions, the course will help you understand how to apply the necessary skills to practice DevOps.

Learn More About DevOps Practitioner

DASA DevOps Specialization

For the whole team to be effective, expert-level knowledge and skills are required on these areas as well, but here we envision three main areas of expertise for IT professionals to specialize into: Enable & Scale, Specify & Verify and Create & Deliver.

Reality has shown that the people necessary to carry out these three areas are different types of personalities.

Enable & Scale

The Enable & Scale specialization area covers the ability to ensure that a DevOps team works optimally and that multiple DevOps teams that support and develop the same product can be governed in such a way that their common product continues to provide value for customers.

The key aspects of the competence framework that are vital for this role are found in the skills areas. DASA recognizes four major skill areas: Courage, Team-building, DevOps Leadership and Continuous Improvement.

Specify & Verify

Within Specify & Verify specialization area, we find the following specific competencies: Business Value Optimization, Business Analysis, Architecture & Design and Test Specification.

We see that these areas are very much focused on ensuring that the requirements of the customers are fully understood and translated into the team so that these requirements can be integrated into the IT service. We estimate that approximately one third of the team will be involved in these areas of expertise.

Create & Deliver

The majority of a DevOps team will fall into the specialization area of Create & Deliver. The core knowledge areas are Programming, Continuous Delivery, Security, Risk & Compliance and Infrastructure Engineering. This is really the heart of the team’s capabilities.

DASA Competence Model

The DASA Competence Model identifies 8 knowledge areas and 4 skills and behavior areas that are relevant in DevOps. Every professional operating in a DevOps team requires all 12 competencies in varying degree.

Learn More About Our Competence Model